Posted by: erinserb | October 2, 2009

The 2016 Summer Olympic Games

Well sports fans, those of you who wanted “my kinda town, Chicago” as an Olympic city will sadly have to wait – perhaps for 2020 (or infinity).

I believe it would have been great to have the 2016 games in Chicago – I would be close enough from my UL (undisclosed location) to travel and see my first Olympic Games, but sadly it was not to be.

The vote wasn’t even close for Chi-town.  I mean c’mon…to be eliminated as a city is bad enough, but to be trounced in the 1st Round is terrible.  A sad day for Chicago.

In all fairness though, Rio de Janeiro will probably do a wonderful job of hosting the Games.  I’ve never been there (maybe this is an excuse to go), but I think you couldn’t ask for a more photogenic backdrop – how can you compete with Copacabana and Ipanema Beach.  Ooops, maybe they’ll hold beach volleyball down there.  God willing, I am looking forward to it…in my dreams, “flying down to Rio” would be soooo cool!

Leave a Reply

Categories

