Posted by: erinserb | February 17, 2010

Textbooks – what a novel idea!

This ALA blog discusses the importance of keeping the library stocked with current textbooks – well, duh! who would have “thunk” that one up!

I am sure not all libraries continue to do this, but I work in a small library at a trade college.   Because of the best practices of my predecessors, I can honestly say that my collection mirrors much that is being taught in our classes.

You see, here we use modules and they are the required “written” material.  I guess I qualified written because so many textbooks are being converted to e-books.  Nothing beats the feel and utility of a good textbook – I openly kept all of mine all the way through library school – hmmm, what a novel idea!

Leave a Reply

Categories

